Cathy Osbourne

Cathy Osborne is the Senior Operating Officer of the University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute and Kaye Edmonton Clinic with Alberta Health Services.

Cathy’s portfolio includes providing operational & strategic leadership for Alberta Kidney Care North, Organ Donation and Transplant Services as well as a number of Edmonton Zone (EZ) programs including EZ Virtual Hospital, Critical Care, Medicine, Cardiac Sciences, Neurosciences, Respiratory Therapy and Ambulatory Care.  Cathy serves as a Board member of the University Hospital Foundation and the Institute for Reconstructive Sciences in Medicine (IRSM) Board of Directors.

In Cathy’s 41 year career traversing three provinces, she has amassed a strong and diverse background in acute/specialty care, chronic disease prevention & management, cardiac rehabilitation, primary health care & population health, holding leadership, consulting, advisory, education & clinical nursing positions.

Cathy has an impressive record of achieving success through exceptional collaborative leadership, fostering innovation and developing teams to achieve high quality results in addition to building strong partnerships with internal and external stakeholders including municipalities, government, primary care and non-profit/community organizations.  One such strategic alliance led to the BC Medical Association 2009 Council on Health Promotion Corporate Award.

Cathy believes strongly in advocating for patients and families, unequivocally supporting a culture of person centered care and continuous quality improvements. In 2009, Cathy was recognized in the House of Commons for her leadership and innovation in health care.  In 2019 Cathy successfully co-led the site operative response for the first Connect Care implementation in Alberta at the University of Alberta Hospital, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute, Kaye Edmonton Clinic and Stollery Children’s Hospital that contributed to Connect Care Wave 1 Implementation receiving the Canadian College of Health Leaders’ 2021 3M Health Care Quality Team Award.